Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Quatuor a cordes

By Hans Lachman

Chamber music
String Quartet (2 violins, viola, cello) (2 vl vla vc)
location of manuscript archive registration number: 464/038
order full score here


Not dated.

1. Allegro moderato

2. Andante sostenuto

3. Allegro molto

4. L’istesso tempo

About Hans Lachman

(03/07/1906 - 06/27/1990)
Hans Lachman

Born in Germany as Heinz Lachmann, Hans Lachman started his musical career in film music and light music. After World War II, which he survived by hiding in the province Limburg, he began composing in a modern classical idiom, building up a considerable oeuvre, including Jewish liturgical music. It is hard to believe that his music, so frequently broadcasted, was later completely forgotten until 2008, when his scores were discovered in a damp garden shed. 

by Eleonore Pameijer