Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Concert voor piano en orkest

By Johanna Bordewijk-Roepman

Piano and orchestra (3322 4331 timp perc str pf-solo)
location of manuscript archive registration number 023/007-1
published score
order full score here

Marinus Flipse


May-June 1940

a pianoreduction is available from, archive registration number 023/007-3 (43 pages)

First performance

Nov 9, 1940 The concerto for piano and orchestra was to be premiered on 9th November 1940, in a series of five popular concerts for the people of South Rotterdam. The city had been bombed in May that year. The Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra was to be conducted by Eduard Flipse, soloist was to be his brother Marinus Flipse. This concert probably didn't take place as the premiere of this concerto was announced later on 14th February 1941 in Haarlem by the 'Haarlemse Orkest Vereniging', conducted by Toon Verheij. Soloist was Marinus Flipse.

About Johanna Bordewijk-Roepman

(08/04/1892 - 10/06/1971)
Johanna Bordewijk-Roepman

Johanna Bordewijk-Roepman was a versatile composer. She wrote for piano, small ensembles, for large orchestra, choirs and even carillon. She largely taught herself composition and displayed an enormous originality. Her music cannot be categorized into any style or school. During World War II she was a supporter of the artists' resistance and courageously refused to register with the Kultuurkamer, imposed by the German occupiers to register, regulate and/or restrict the activities of Dutch intellectuals and artists. Those who signed up to participate had to sign a declaration of (Aryan) ethnicity. Jews were not allowed. After the war, she and her husband were members of the ‘Courts of Honour’, established to purge one’s own discipline of collaborating colleagues.

by Elly Kamp