Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Concerto pour piano et orchestre

By Rosy Wertheim

Piano and orchestra (pf 2fl 2ob 2cl 2fg 3h 2trp 2trb timp xyl 2vl vla vc cb)
location of manuscript archive registration number 142/032
published score
order full score here


Not dated

Pianoreduction for two piano's available: archive registration number NMI MNmfIII/1102-1103 (microfiche)

About Rosy Wertheim

(02/19/1888 - 05/27/1949)
Rosy Wertheim

Rosy Wertheim was one of the first Dutch women composers who completed a professional music education and gained international acclaim. Next to music, she was deeply committed to social causes. She lived in Paris for seven years, and for some time in Vienna and New York; her home was a meeting point for artists. Her compositions were performed nationally and internationally, and she worked as a correspondent for several newspapers and magazines. She was in the Netherlands when World War II broke out, and survived by going into hiding. She left a varied and interesting oeuvre of some eighty works.

by Eleonore Pameijer