Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Concertante muziek voor orkest met viool- en hobo-soli

By Bertus van Lier

Two or more different solo instruments and orchestra (4222 4331 timp perc pf str ob-vl-solo)
17 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 193/043
published score
order full score here

Dedicated to the Amsterdam conservatory at the celebration of the 75th anniversary by alumnus Bertus van Lier


Concertante music for orchestra with solo violin and oboe

Adagio (Andante sostenuto)-Allegro con spirito
Lento-Allegro con spirito

Commissioned by the ‘gemeente Amsterdam’


About Bertus van Lier

Bertus van Lier

Composer Bertus van Lier was a versatile and determined intellectual. From the start of World World II he upheld his principles against the occupier. During and after the war he maintained this attitude towards those colleagues who were suspected of collaboration with the enemy. In compositions written during the war, Van Lier expressed his resistance to the deprivation of liberty, especially in his vocal works. After the liberation his work as composer diminished and he focused on his activities as a musicologist, pedagogue and publicist.

by Diet Scholten