Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Vier verzen: voce (soprano) & orchestra

By Bertus van Lier

Vocal music
Voice and orchestra (sopr 2110 1000 hp str)
8 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 193/063a-d
order full score here


Four verses for voice (soprano) & orchestra

Om mijn oud woonhuis peppels staan (round my houde poplars stand)
Een sneeuw ligt in den morgen vroeg (a snow in the early morning lies)
Laat de luiken geloken zijn (let the blinds be closed)
In claghen (complaining)

Words by Jan Hendrik Leopold

There is a version for voice and piano as well: catalogue application number MNmfI/0545



About Bertus van Lier

Bertus van Lier

Composer Bertus van Lier was a versatile and determined intellectual. From the start of World World II he upheld his principles against the occupier. During and after the war he maintained this attitude towards those colleagues who were suspected of collaboration with the enemy. In compositions written during the war, Van Lier expressed his resistance to the deprivation of liberty, especially in his vocal works. After the liberation his work as composer diminished and he focused on his activities as a musicologist, pedagogue and publicist.

by Diet Scholten