Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Sonata for violin solo

By Zoltán Székely

Chamber music
Violin (vl)
published score
order full score here

Herrn und Frau J. de Graaff-Bachiene herzlichst


Opus 1, 1920

Appassionato - Scherzo - Intermezzo - Finale

First performance

Sep 4, 1925 First performance by the composer at the third festival of the International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM) in Venice, Italy.

About Zoltán Székely

Zoltán Székely

Venice, September 4, 1925. At the third festival of the International Society for Contemporary Music, a young Hungarian violinist presented his own Sonata for Solo Violin. The response to his performance was overwhelming: thunderous applause from the audience, praise from colleagues and rave reviews from the international press. A splendid success for the young violinist and composer Zoltán Székely. Present in the audience was his future wife, Igminia (Mientje) Everts from Nijmegen. She recalled the impassioned response from the public: “I have seen with my own eyes Stravinsky and Schoenberg standing on their chairs in the Gran Teatro La Fenice in Venice to applaud Zoltán’s performance of his Solo Sonata!”

by Joop Leijendeckers