Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Polyphon et Homophon

By Zoltán Székely

Chamber music
String Duo (different instruments) (vl vla)
published score
order full score here


Opus 2, First movement: Nijmegen 1925, 28-30 March. Second movement: Nijmegen, April 1-3

Andante Espressivo - Con Fuoco

First performance

Jun 2, 1926 First performance by the composer and Paul Hermann (cello) on 2nd June 1926 in Cologne at a concert of the 'Gesellschaft für neue Musik'

About Zoltán Székely

Zoltán Székely

Venice, September 4, 1925. At the third festival of the International Society for Contemporary Music, a young Hungarian violinist presented his own Sonata for Solo Violin. The response to his performance was overwhelming: thunderous applause from the audience, praise from colleagues and rave reviews from the international press. A splendid success for the young violinist and composer Zoltán Székely. Present in the audience was his future wife, Igminia (Mientje) Everts from Nijmegen. She recalled the impassioned response from the public: “I have seen with my own eyes Stravinsky and Schoenberg standing on their chairs in the Gran Teatro La Fenice in Venice to applaud Zoltán’s performance of his Solo Sonata!”

by Joop Leijendeckers