Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Allegro for violin and piano

By Zoltán Székely

Chamber music
Violin and keyboard instrument (vl pf)


28 november 1923

A version for violin and Orchestra exists as well

First performance

Dec 11, 1923 First performance on 11th December 1923 in Madrid, by Zoltán Székely and pianist Ferran Ember

About Zoltán Székely

Zoltán Székely

Venice, September 4, 1925. At the third festival of the International Society for Contemporary Music, a young Hungarian violinist presented his own Sonata for Solo Violin. The response to his performance was overwhelming: thunderous applause from the audience, praise from colleagues and rave reviews from the international press. A splendid success for the young violinist and composer Zoltán Székely. Present in the audience was his future wife, Igminia (Mientje) Everts from Nijmegen. She recalled the impassioned response from the public: “I have seen with my own eyes Stravinsky and Schoenberg standing on their chairs in the Gran Teatro La Fenice in Venice to applaud Zoltán’s performance of his Solo Sonata!”

by Joop Leijendeckers