Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Allegro for violin and orchestra

By Zoltán Székely

Violin and orchestra


Nijmegen, 28 November 1923

a version for violin and piano also exists

First performance

Apr 2, 2007 First performance on 2nd February 2007 in Stadthalle Göttingen by Kolja Lessing (violin) and the Göttinger Symphonie Orchester conducted by Christoph Mueller

About Zoltán Székely

Zoltán Székely

Venice, September 4, 1925. At the third festival of the International Society for Contemporary Music, a young Hungarian violinist presented his own Sonata for Solo Violin. The response to his performance was overwhelming: thunderous applause from the audience, praise from colleagues and rave reviews from the international press. A splendid success for the young violinist and composer Zoltán Székely. Present in the audience was his future wife, Igminia (Mientje) Everts from Nijmegen. She recalled the impassioned response from the public: “I have seen with my own eyes Stravinsky and Schoenberg standing on their chairs in the Gran Teatro La Fenice in Venice to applaud Zoltán’s performance of his Solo Sonata!”

by Joop Leijendeckers