Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Sinfonische Variationen op. 54

By Wilhelm Rettich

Piano and orchestra (pf pic 2fl ob ob/eh 2cl 2fg 4h 3trp 3trb tb timp perc hp str)
35 minutes
published score
order full score here


Symphonic variations on a theme by A.Z. Idelsohn

I (…)
II Variation I
III Variation II
IV Variation III
V Variation IV
VI Variation V
VII Variation VI
VIII Variation VII
IX Cadenza e Coda

First performance

Dec 16, 1949 Performed by Omroeporkest conducted by Henk Spruit. Soloist George van Renesse. Broadcast on national radio.

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten