Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Twee sonnetten voor mezzo-sopraan en orkest op. 10

By Marius Flothuis

Vocal music
Voice and orchestra (medium 0222 2100 timp perc str)
5 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/009-2
published score
order full score here

Dedicated to Ré Koster


‘Two sonnets for mezzo-soprano and orchestra“

Hy droech onse smerten (He bore our sorrows) (words by Jacobus Revius)
Rebel, mijn hart (Rebel, my heart) (words by Jan Campert)


There is a version for mezzo-soprano or baritone and piano as well.

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan