Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Quintet voor fluit, hobo, klarinet, fagot en basklarinet op. 13

By Marius Flothuis

Chamber music
Wood Wind ensemble (2-12 players) (fl ob cl fag cl-b)
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/012

Dedicated to the Concertgebouw-quintet


Quintet for flute, oboe clarinet, bassoon and bass clarinet

Amsterdam 1941-1942

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan