Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Sonatine voor trompet, hoorn en trombone op. 26

By Marius Flothuis

Chamber music
Brass Ensemble (2-8 players) (h trp trb)
6 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/025
published score
order full score here


Allegro giojoso

Program note: This Sonatina was written at the suggestion of my friend Georges Caraël, a Belgian horn player, which whom I shared German imprisonment in 1944 and 1945. The first and second movement were written during the last week of our stay in the concentration camp of Oranienburg in April 1945, the two others immediately after the liberation; I completed them on May 12th, in Schwerin. I don't think there is any connection between the character of the music and the circumstances in which it was written. I tried to write something very simple, something that should be a pleasure to play and to hear. In bar 99-102 I inserted a tune which was sung by a blackbird thus accompanying our happy feelings after the liberation. - MARIUS FLOTHUIS

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan