Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Four Trifles for high voice and small orchestra op. 33

By Marius Flothuis

Vocal music
Voice and orchestra (high 1121 sax-a 1100 timp perc cel vibr hp str)
6 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/032-2
published score
order full score here


Falling asleep in an orchard (Sylvia Townsend Warner)
The look (Sar Teasdale)
Black eyes (Sylvia Townsend Warner)
The seal-woman (Kathleen Raine)

There are two more versions:
- For high voice and piano
- For low voice and piano

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan