Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Capriccio voor harmonie-orkest op. 35 nr. 1

By Marius Flothuis

Fanfare ( 3sax 3244 3bug 2crt timp perc)
9 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/034-1
published score
order full score here


Commissioned by the City of Amsterdam

In 2011 the instrumentation was revised by Alexander Comitas (Donemus D12378)

There is a version for string orchestra as well (Donemus D07756)

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan