Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Kleine Suite (Vocalises) voor sopraan en piano op. 47

By Marius Flothuis

Chamber music
Clarinet and keyboard instrument|Oboe and keyboard instrument|Saxophone and keyboard instrument|Trumpet and keyboard instrument|Voice and piano (sopr/ob/cl/sax-s/trp pf)
9 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/045
published score
order full score here


Con grazia, non troppo vivo
Molto tranquillo
Vivace e leggiero
Lento grazioso

For soprano and piano, but also suitable for:
- oboe and piano
- clarinet and piano
- soprano saxophone and piano
- trumpet and piano

Op. 47a: arrangement for soprano, flute, violin, viola, cello and harp (Donemus D08858)

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan