Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Kleine Suite (Vocalises) voor sopraan, fluit, viool, altviool, violoncel en harp op. 47a

By Marius Flothuis

Vocal music
Voice and instrument(s) (sopr fl hp vl vla vc)
9 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/045a
published score
order full score here


Con grazia, non troppo vivo
Molto tranquillo
Vivace e leggiero
Lento grazioso

Arrangement (1995) by Marius Flothuis of op. 47 (Donemus D01556) for soprano, flute, violin, viola, cello and harp

Panicale - Amsterdam

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan