Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Quatter miniaturas rumantschas per üna vusch ed üna flöta op. 68

By Marius Flothuis

Vocal music
Voice and instrument(s) (sopr fl(fl-a))
6 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/062
published score
order full score here

For Elisabeth Lugt


In the Romansh language

Plövgia (words by Luisa Famos)
Cun quell' ögliada (words by Luisa Famos)
Uniun (words by Andri Peer)
I chatscha di (words by Luisa Famos)

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan