Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Adagio per strumenti a percussione e pianoforte (a 4 mani) opus 74

By Marius Flothuis

Chamber music
Mixed ensemble (2-11 players) (5perc pf4h)
15 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/068
published score
order full score here


Revision (1996) by Marius Flothuis of the 1975 original

Commissioned by the Dutch government

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan