Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Hommage à Mallarmé chant, flûte, violoncelle et piano op. 80

By Marius Flothuis

Vocal music
Voice and instrument(s) (medium fl pf vc)
4 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/074
published score
order full score here


Words by Stephane Mallarmé

Themes by Ernest Chausson and Claude Debussy

Composed at the aoccasion of of the 10th lustrum of the Instituut voor Muziekwetenschap te Utrecht


About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan