Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Frivolités drie stukken voor strijkinstrumenten op. 81

By Marius Flothuis

Chamber music
Cello|Viola|Violin (vl/vla/vc)
7 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/075-1 351/075-2 351/075-3 351/075-4
published score
order full score here

Dedicated to Kirsti Oranje-Goedhart (nr. 1) Stana van der Valk Bouman-Olléová (nr. 2) and Edith Neuman (nr. 3)


Frivolités three pieces for string instruments:
Habanera (for violin solo)
Elegia (for viola solo)
Sarabande (for cello solo)

Amsterdam - Los Angeles

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan