Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Sonate pour hautbois, cor et clavecin Opus 85

By Marius Flothuis

Chamber music
Mixed ensemble (2-11 players) (ob h cemb)
14 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/079
published score
order full score here

Dedicated to Silke Leopold



Commissioned by the NCRV

Program note: On the manuscript of the sonata for violin and piano, the third of a series of six that Debussy had planned, the composer announced: "La quatrième sera pour hautbois, cor et clavecin" .
For many years I have had the objective to write a work for this combination, of course with no intention whatsoever to imitate Debussy, least of all to compose "the fourth Debussy sonata". Please do not search for quotations from Debussy's work, as they are not to be found. What I did try, was to honour some of the features of Debussy's later works: harmonic clarity, transparency in the combination of instruments, and freedom of design.
In that respect, it is a "hommage à Claude Debussy, musicien Français". - MARIUS FLOTHUIS

Amsterdam - Cambridge

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan