Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Preludio, notturno e capriccio per violino, viola e violoncello op. 91

By Marius Flothuis

Chamber music
String Trio (violin, viola, cello) (vl vla vc)
14 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/085
published score
order full score here

To Henk Smit the energetic and inventive organiser of the Orlando Festival

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan