Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Drei Lieder nach Gedichten von Günter Eich versie voor mezzosopraan en klein ensemble opus 99a

By Marius Flothuis

Vocal music
Voice and instrument(s) (sopr-m fl(fl-a) eh(ob) cl bh cl-b hp cb)
6 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/093a
published score
order full score here

Dedicated to Silke Leopold


Words by Günter Eich

Wie grau es auch regnet
Die Totentrompete
Die Häherfeder

Version for mezzo and piano opus 99: Donemus D09198

Not to be confused with: November Drei Lieder nach deutschen Gedichten opus 90

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan