Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Seizoenen opus 61

By Marius Flothuis

Vocal music
Female choir and instruments (SSAA fl)
17 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/220
published score
order full score here


Seasons, a cycle for 4 part female choir and flute

Voorjaar (Spring) words by B. Aafjes
Zomernacht (Summer night) words by L.P.J. Braat
Midzomerzorgendag (Midsummer care day) words by L.P.J. Braat
Herfst (Autumn) words by H. Michaelis
Langzaam (Slow) words by H. Lodeizen
Sneeuw (Snow) words by A. Morriën


About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan