Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Concerto pour piano et orchestre (1959)

By Ignace Lilien

Piano and orchestra (pf orch)
location of manuscript archive registration number 009/132 009/133
published score catalogue application number NMI 27764 NMI 27783


Piano concerto (1959)

1. Allegro leggiero
2. Andante pastorale
3. Allegro con spirito (Tempo di mazurka)

+ piano reduction

About Ignace Lilien

Ignace Lilien

His hometown Lemberg, in the Ukraine known as Lviv, and in Poland as Lwów, has a history of occupation by shifting powers. This is why the Germans had trouble figuring out Ignace Lilien's real identity; he survived the war with forged documents. He worked as a chemical engineer, but that didn’t stop him from composing a large oeuvre. His life was as varied as his music, with influences ranging from Polish modernism to South American rhythms and timbres.

by Frans van Ruth