Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Concerto pour violon avec accompagnement d’orchestre

By Ignace Lilien

Violin and orchestra (pf orch)
location of manuscript archive registration number 009/135a+b+c
published score catalogue application number NMI 11710 NMI 24145


Concerto for violin with orchestral accompaniment

1. Maestoso-Allegro
2. Adagio
3. Interlude (Lento)
4. Finale (Metamorphoses) (Allegro con brio)

+ piano reduction

About Ignace Lilien

Ignace Lilien

His hometown Lemberg, in the Ukraine known as Lviv, and in Poland as Lwów, has a history of occupation by shifting powers. This is why the Germans had trouble figuring out Ignace Lilien's real identity; he survived the war with forged documents. He worked as a chemical engineer, but that didn’t stop him from composing a large oeuvre. His life was as varied as his music, with influences ranging from Polish modernism to South American rhythms and timbres.

by Frans van Ruth