Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Sechs Gedichte von R.M. Rilke

By Ignace Lilien

Vocal music
Voice and piano (low/medium pf)
location of manuscript archive registration number 009/146.01
published score catalogue application number MNmfI/0548


Six poems by R.M. Rilke for low or middle voice and piano

1. Herbst
2. Vor lauter Lauschen
3. Die Nacht des Zweifels
4. Wiener Walzer
5. In Weinblattdämmer
6. O wenn mein Herz

About Ignace Lilien

Ignace Lilien

His hometown Lemberg, in the Ukraine known as Lviv, and in Poland as Lwów, has a history of occupation by shifting powers. This is why the Germans had trouble figuring out Ignace Lilien's real identity; he survived the war with forged documents. He worked as a chemical engineer, but that didn’t stop him from composing a large oeuvre. His life was as varied as his music, with influences ranging from Polish modernism to South American rhythms and timbres.

by Frans van Ruth