Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Suite im alten Stil op. 40 (for orchestra)

By Wilhelm Rettich

Orchestra (fl fl/pic ob ob/eh 2cl 2fg 2h 2trp timp str)
22 minutes
published score
order full score here


Suite in old style

I Sarabande
II Bourrée
III Menuet
IV Canon
V Air
VI Gigue

There are 5 more versions:
for cello and string orchestra op. 40 A
for violin and chamber orchestra op. 40 B
for viola and string orchestra op. 40 C
for string orchestra op. 40 D
for cello and chamber orchestra op. 40 A (E)

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten