Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Sinfonia Olandese op. 52 A (2. Symphony)

By Wilhelm Rettich

Vocal music
Mixed choir|Voice and orchestra (bas-bar fl fl/pic ob ob/eh 2cl 2fg 4h 3trp 3trb timp perc hp str)
48 minutes
published score
order full score here


Dutch symphony (also: Second symphony)

I Saul und David - II Die beiden Neger - III Matthäus und der Engel - IV Titus - V Die Rückkehr des verlorenen Sohnes - VI Bildnis eines Rabbi - VII Spinozas Bodenkammer im Haag - VIII Rembrandt ist alt - IX Selbstbildnis mit der Laterne

Words by I. Heilbut, J. Jourdan, Clive D. Greidinger, J.D. Bierens de Haan, Bertus Aafjes, Charles B. Timmer, Alfred Noyes, Gerrit Kamphuis (German translation by Wilhelm Rettich)

Movement 5 and 7 also published by Schott separately.

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten