Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Sinfonia Giudaica op. 53 (Symphonie Nr. 3)

By Wilhelm Rettich

Orchestra (2fl fl/pic 2ob ob/eh 2cl cl/cl-b 2fg fg/cfg 4h 3trp 3trb tb timp perc hp str)
60 minutes
published score
order full score here


Judaic symphony (symphony 3)

I Molto lento
II Scherzo
III Adagio mesto e sostenuto
IV Finale

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten