Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Pippa passes op. 57 A (soprano and ten instruments)

By Wilhelm Rettich

Vocal music
Voice and instrument(s) (fl ob cl fg h hp 2vl vla vc)
18 minutes
published score
order full score here


Words by Robert Browning

I Introduction
II Tranquillo e semplice “All service ranks the same with God”
III Quasi sostenuto “The year’s at the spring”
IV Mosso, capricciosamente “Give her but a least excuse”
V Moderato, quasi alla ballata “A king lived long ago”
VI Andantino soave “You’ll love me yet!”
VII Tranquillo e teneramente “Overhead the treetops”
VIII Tranquillo e semplice “Oh what a drear dark close to my poor day”
IX Epilogue “Now, one thing I should like”

There is a version for mezzo soprano as well

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten