Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Paul Verlaine chante Cinq poésies pour une voix et orchestre op. 60

By Wilhelm Rettich

Vocal music
Voice and orchestra (2222 2200 perc hp str)
10 minutes
published score
order full score here


Words by Paul Verlaine

I Silence “Un grand sommeil noir tombe sur ma vie”
II L’heure exquise “La lune blanche luit dans les bois”
III Chanson d’automne “Les sanglots longs des violons de l’automne”
IV Gaspard Hauser chante “Je suis venu calme orphelin”
V Dansons la gigue “Dansons la gigue”

Two versions available of the vocal score:
- for low voice and piano (Schott Order No.: AST 102)
- for high voice and piano (Schott Order No.: AST 103)

There is a version for voice and string trio as well (minus poem IV!)

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten