Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Konzert über B-A-C-H op. 122 A (trumpet, soprano, brass, timpani and strings)

By Wilhelm Rettich

Vocal music
Trumpet|Voice and large ensemble (trp sopr 0000 2030 timp str)
15 minutes
published score
order full score here


Concerto on B-A-C-H

Words by Theodor Fontane, Rudolf Alexander Schröder, Rudolf G. Binding and Guido Gezelle

I Memento "Hast du Gewalt, so richte recht"
II Media in Vita "Aus Todes Furcht, aus Angst des Lebens"
III Tod und Leben "Tod und Leben traten vor mich hin" · Groeninghe "Das vlaamsche Heer steht stur in Reihn"

There is a version for just brass, timpani and strings as well (op. 122).

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten