Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Konzert für Violine und Orchester op. 51

By Wilhelm Rettich

Violin and orchestra (2fl fl/pic 2ob 2cl 2fg 4h 3trp 3trb tb timp perc hp str)
39 minutes
published score
order full score here


Violin concerto op. 51

I Poco sostenuto · Allegro non troppo
II Andante quasi Adagio
III Rondo: Allegretto vivace assai

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten