Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Eight sonnets op. 140 (soprano and piano)

By Wilhelm Rettich

Vocal music
Voice and piano (sopr pf)
20 minutes
published score
order full score here


Words by Elisabeth Barrett-Browning

1. I thought once
2. The Fare of all the World
3. If thou must love me
4. Say over again
5. If leave all for thee
6. I thank all who have loved me
7. How do I l(?)
8. ?

ISMN: 979-0-2038-0109-2

There is a version for mezzo-soprano, flute and string quartet as well.

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten