Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Drei Gesänge des Harfners aus Goethes "Wilhelm Meister" op. 73

By Wilhelm Rettich

Vocal music
Voice and instrument(s) (bar 2hp)
8 minutes
published score
order full score here


Three chants of the harpist from Faust by Goethe op. 73

1. An die Türen will ich schleichen
2. Wer sich der Einsamkeit ergibt
3. Wer nie sein Brot mit Tränen aß

ISMN: 979-0-2038-0145-0

See also: Drei Lieder des Harfners (for male voice and piano)

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten