Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Doppelkonzert für Violine und Fagott mit kleinem Orchester op. 51

By Wilhelm Rettich

Two or more different solo instruments and orchestra (vl fg 2111 2100 timp str)
30 minutes
published score
order full score here


Double concerto for violin and bassoon with a small orchestra op. 51 A. After violin concerto op. 50.

I Poco sostenuto · Allegro ma non troppo
II Andante quasi Adagio
III Rondo. Allegretto vivace assai

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten