Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Antonín Sova-Zyklus op. 60

By Wilhelm Rettich

Vocal music
Voice and orchestra (ten 3fl 2ob ob/eh 2cl cl/cl-b 2fg cfg 4h 2 trp 3 trb tb timp perc hp str)
12 minutes
published score
order full score here


Antonín Sova-cycle

Words by Antonín Sova (German translation by Paul Eisner)

I Entfremdete Liebende “Einst einte uns einzige Sehnsucht”
II Pastorale “Heut mag der Wellengang der Nacht besprühn das Traumgestade”
III Die Brunnen der Hoffnung “Ich ging zu trinken am Brunnen im lichten Hain”

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten