Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Altniederländische Volksmelodien I Kleine Suite für Orchester op. 90 I

By Wilhelm Rettich

Orchestra (fl fl/pic 2ob 2cl 2fg 2h 2trp timp str)
8 minutes
published score
order full score here


Old Dutch folk tunes I small suite for orchestra

I Allegretto moderato (“Almeloosche Kermisse”)
II Allegretto comodo (“Peerdesprong”)
III Allegretto scherzoso (“Zeeuwsche Rei”)
IV Allegretto giocoso (“Horlepiep”)

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten