Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Altniederländische Volksmelodien II Suite für Orchester op. 90 II

By Wilhelm Rettich

Orchestra (fl fl/pic 2ob 2cl 2fg 2h 2trp timp str)
18 minutes
published score
order full score here


Old Dutch folk tunes II Suite for orchestra op. 90 II

I Andantino mosso
II Andantino tranquillo
III Allegretto mosso e piacevole
IV Poco vivace
V Allegretto tranquillo
VI Vivo non troppo
VII Andantino comodo
VIII Moderato
IX Andante non troppo
X Allegretto con moto

About Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich

Wilhelm Rettich belonged to that generation of those whose work and life was deeply affected by the First and Second World Wars. Captivity, persecution, hiding and losses scarred his life. In 1933, he emigrated to the Netherlands, where he survived the war in hiding. Rettich worked a great deal for the radio, a young and progressive medium at that time. Although he became a Dutch citizen after the World War II, he returned to Germany in 1964.

by Diet Scholten