Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Concerto per Violino, Viola, Contrabasso ed Orchestra

By Lex van Delden

Two or more different solo instruments and orchestra (2222 2000 timp perc str vl-vla-cb-solo)
18 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number: 238/122
published score
order full score here

Commissioned by Kunstmaand Amsterdam


opus 88
Amsterdam, 31-12-1965

First performance

May 18, 1966 Amsterdam - Ronald Masin, Wim ten Have, Anthony Woodrow, Kunstmaandorkest o.l.v. Anton Kersjes

About Lex van Delden

(09/10/1919 - 07/01/1988)
Lex van Delden

During World War II, Alexander Zwaap had to cover his identity by living under an alias. As of 1953, he legally changed his name to Lex van Delden. His life story is impressive considering the traumatic events he experienced in the war years. A past of which he never spoke, and which he knew to overcome with tremendous courage and resilience. Music was for him a “transfer medium between people.” He literally practiced this with his compositions. Van Delden was a great advocate of Dutch music and held several board positions in the Dutch music world.

by Margaret Krill