Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site


By Hans Krieg

Vocal music
Mixed choir and orchestra (sopr alt bs SATB 2222 2210 hp str perc)
32 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 148644

To the victims of the Second World War


Hebrew version. Op. 84.

1. Preludium, 2. Adoschem, adoschem, 3. Keelie keelie, 4. T'fillah, 5. Keel malee rachamiem, 6. Postludium (Achai w'achjotai)

Composed for the 12.5 Anniversary of the Amsterdam Jewish Male Choir

About Hans Krieg

Hans Krieg

The life of Hans Krieg, a German who became a Dutch citizen in 1951, was marked by the horrors of Nazi ideology. Before the war, a promising career as a composer and choral and opera conductor was on the horizon, however, when Hitler and the Nazi Party came to power, Krieg, as a persona non grata had to flee his homeland. He managed to establish a new life in the Netherlands, but after the war he had to rebuild his life. Once more he succeeded, and this humble man was recognized as a key figure in the Jewish community.

by Aagje Pabbruwe