Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Uit de dierenwereld

By Hans Krieg

Chamber music
Piano (pf)
location of manuscript
published score
Kadimah, Amsterdam

Cor van Boven


Suite: From the world of the animals

Delen: 1. De olifant (The elephant) 2. Dansende beer (Dancing bear) 3. Het gevangen vogeltje (The captured bird) 4. Apen (Apes) 5. Flamingo 6. De leeuw (The lion) 7. Konijntjes (Little rabbits) 8. De slang (The snake) 9. Mars der dieren (March of the animals)

About Hans Krieg

Hans Krieg

The life of Hans Krieg, a German who became a Dutch citizen in 1951, was marked by the horrors of Nazi ideology. Before the war, a promising career as a composer and choral and opera conductor was on the horizon, however, when Hitler and the Nazi Party came to power, Krieg, as a persona non grata had to flee his homeland. He managed to establish a new life in the Netherlands, but after the war he had to rebuild his life. Once more he succeeded, and this humble man was recognized as a key figure in the Jewish community.

by Aagje Pabbruwe