Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Vier kleine klavierstukken

By Marius Flothuis

Chamber music
Piano (pf)
10 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 351/125 351/130 351/148 351/150 351/226
published score
order full score here


Four small piano pieces

Piccola passacaglia (Andante maestoso)
Albumblatt (Andante moderato, teneramente)
Kleine nocturne (Andante, semple legato e sempre con pedale)
Kleine passacaglia (Maestoso)

On a theme by Hans Henkemans

Amsterdam - Breukelen

About Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis

Marius Flothuis led an eventful life. Early on, he was politically aware and left-wing orientated. He lost his job at the Concertgebouw Orchestra on his refusal to register with the Kultuurkamer, a regulatory cultural agency installed by the German occupying forces during World War II. He was arrested for his resistance work, imprisoned in Camp Vught and deported to Sachsenhausen in 1944. Meanwhile, he continued composing and survived the hardships. In the postwar Dutch and international music worlds he held numerous positions.

by Joyce Kiliaan