Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Sonatine Apollinique

By Ignace Lilien

Chamber music
Wind ensemble (2-12 players) (2fl 2ob 2cl 2fg 2h)
12 minutes
location of manuscript archive registration number 009/100 009/101a+b 009/102 009/103
published score
order full score here


Apollonian sonatine (for double wind quintet)

1. Allegro non troppo
2. Rotundello
3. Fuga al inversione (Allegretto scherzando)

Composed in Apeldoorn

See also (piano reduction): catalogue application number MNmfIII/0849

About Ignace Lilien

Ignace Lilien

His hometown Lemberg, in the Ukraine known as Lviv, and in Poland as Lwów, has a history of occupation by shifting powers. This is why the Germans had trouble figuring out Ignace Lilien's real identity; he survived the war with forged documents. He worked as a chemical engineer, but that didn’t stop him from composing a large oeuvre. His life was as varied as his music, with influences ranging from Polish modernism to South American rhythms and timbres.

by Frans van Ruth