Forbidden Music Regained

Leo Smit Stichting
Search this site

Sechs Lieder für Gesang und Klavier

By Julius Hijman

Vocal music
Voice and piano (voice pf)
location of manuscript
Library collection Netherlands Music Institute, The Hague


Words by Max Mell, Wilhelm Lehmann, Gorg von der Vring, Klabund, Julius Hijman

1. Hochsommernacht / tekst v. Max Mell 2. Klage ohne Trauer / tekst v. Wilhelm Lehmann 3. Abgeblühter Löwenzahn / tekst v. Wilhelm Lehmann 4. Zwielicht / tekst v. Georg von der Vring 5. Dorf bei Nacht / tekst v. Georg von der Vring 6. Einmal noch den Abend halten / tekst v. Klabund

About Julius Hijman

(01/25/1901 - 01/08/1969)
Julius Hijman

Julius Hijman's life centered around contemporary and Dutch music. Touring internationally, he presented the works of Dutch composers, and in the Netherlands he introduced new music from abroad. His own compositions were not always appreciated by his peers. He fled into exile in 1939 to America and was forgotten in his native country. The majority of his extensive oeuvre remains unpublished, awaiting performance.

by Carine Alders